Aah! Books!

The Central Library’s interlibrary loan service is proving to be invaluable, if a bit expensive! Robert Allen Rouse’s book on the importance of Anglo-Saxon references in medieval texts proved to be absolutely fascinating and so informative and helpful to my research that I simply had to find a copy I could afford buy – which I did. It’s a mine of inspiration and well worth the outlay, which was not excessive for an academic book.

I am more persuaded now to go along with current thinking, while still wondering why the matter of language development seems sidelined. Maybe I haven’t found the book or articles on this but I have enough to be going on with for now.

The book on Medieval England 1086-1348 is equally fascinating in its own way, and also worth the outlay to have it to hand. With the unrelated article out of the way and awaiting judgement, I really hope to get back into the Bevis research and writing without further distractions (some hope!) but there’s nothing like new books to whet the appetite.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment